August Desserts, Part Two: Bingsu’s in Seoul (Plus Fried Oreos)

I’d like to imagine that the food everywhere is great to someone and boring to everyone else, everyone else being the people who live there. Having lived in Korea for the past four years, I feel like I’m in a perpetual state of being in-between. Every new dish feels like either a trek through the mundane or a parade through the unknown; a gastronomic parade, a deliciously gastronomic parade.

For the month of August my girlfriend over at Seoul Searching decided to compile a list of her favorite shaved ice desserts. Shaved ice being a Korean dessert stable known as bingsu (빙수) with a variety of toppings and flavors and… well, varieties. Her search took us all over Seoul, a month of traveling about. Delicious fruit sorbets and milk tea shavings and red beans with rice cake constituted my weekends even as chocolate fondants and cranachans were obliterating my weeks.

Fruit Sorbet @ Haba Cosina

Fruit Sorbet @ Haba Cosina

Orea Green Tea Bingsu @ Pas des Deux

Orea Green Tea Bingsu @ Pas des Deux

Oreo Fries (Fried Oreos) @ Newyork Apartment

Oreo Fries (Fried Oreos) @ Newyork Apartment

Rooibos Milk Tea Bingsu @ Damas

Rooibos Milk Tea Bingsu @ Damas

Mercifully (and, maybe, a little thankfully) my month of delicious desserts and sugary confections has come to an end I don’t have to dream of strawberries in cream with mangoes, red beans, and sorbets piled on a tiny mountain of dreams. Delicious, but… well, nothing, just delicious. I can’t wait until the next one.